Egypt – 22 public holidays (7/12)

Egypt Pyramids
Egypt Pyramids


Egypt is another country with 22 public holidays. However, granting public holidays is quite complex in Egypt. Holidays are a mix of non-secular days and religious days. It's an Islamic country, and the holidays are determined according to the Gregorian calendar as well as the Islamic lunar calendar. Therefore, some holidays are fixed, while the holidays that are determined by the lunar calendar are movable (they can fall on different dates in different years). There are four main Islamic holidays (Eid al-Adha, Eid al-Fitr, Islamic New Year, and Birthday of the Prophet Muhammad) and two Christian holidays.

The Egyptian National Day falls on July 23. The annual celebration of the Egyptian revolution of 1952, which declared the modern republic of Egypt, also falls on this date. The Egyptian calendar also has a newly added public holiday on January 25 to commemorate the public uprisings of 2011.

"Egypt Pyramid" (CC0) via Pixabay

talkKs editorial
Use the comment section to suggest new list items for inclusion

Comments 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : Which Number is Smaller 0 or 3 ?